Ben Libberton

Science Communicator, Freelance
Sharon Longford

Communications Manager, SCELSE

Ronan McCarthy

Research Associate, Imperial College London

Qichun Zhang

Associate Professor, Nanyang Technological University

Scott A Rice

Associate Professor, Singapore Centre for Environmental Life Sciences Engineering

A/Prof. Rice’s research programme is centered on how and why bacteria form matrix encased biofilms. The goal of such research is to define the molecular pathways that control the biofilm life-cycle, with a particular interest in those processes that regulate the switch between planktonic and biofilm growth. Such knowledge can be used to manipulate the biofilm in a directed fashion to either encourage or discourage biofilm formation as needed. His group works on a variety of biofilm systems, ranging from single species populations to increasingly more complex multispecies systems, which are more representative of natural biofilms. Current projects include the continued development and investigation of a simple three species biofilm consortia, focusing on the mechanisms and consequences of microbial interactions. He is also keenly interested in how bacteriophage may contribute to the development of biofilms, as opposed to their role as killing agents. Predation is a primary environmental factor responsible for the killing of bacteria and A/Prof. Rice is investigating how bacteria respond to predators. Another aspect of his research focuses on the application of nitric oxide, a bacterial signal, to control biofilm formation for medical and industrial applications.
Philip S. Stewart

Professor, Center for Biofilm Engineering

Paul Wilmes

Professor, University of Luxembourg

Patrick May

Head of Genome Analysis, LCSB

Melissa Garcia-Sherman

Research Assistant Professor , Brooklyn College

Noel M. Unciano

Research Specialist, Environment and Biotechnology Division - ITDI

Mary Cloud B. Ammons

Assistant Research Professor, Montana State University

Marvin Whiteley

Professor, University of Texas at Austin

Lutgarde Raskin

Altarum/ERIM Russell O'Neal Professor of Engineering, University of Michigan

Kai Wei Kelvin Lee

Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Singapore Centre on Environmental Life Sciences Engineering, Singapore Centre on Environmental Life Sciences Engineering

Juliana Ansari

Microbiology Lab Supervisor at Fairfield University, Fairfield University

Lori L. Burrows

Professor , McMaster University

Dr. Lopez-Ribot is a Professor in the Department of Biology and the South Texas Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases, and the Margaret Batts Tobin distinguished chair at The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA). The research programme in his laboratory is focused on the study of Candida albicans and candidiasis, the main fungal infection affecting an increasing number of immune- and medically-compromised patients. The work encompasses from the basic biology of the cell wall, biofilm formation, adhesion and morphogenetic conversions, to the use of animal models to better understand virulence and host responses, to the more clinical aspects such as antifungals, drug resistance and vaccine development; with the ultimate goal of devising new strategies for the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of candidiasis.
Jens Nielsen

Professor, Chalmers University of Technology

Jens Nielsen has an MSc degree in Chemical Engineering and a PhD degree (1989) in Biochemical Engineering from the Danish Technical University (DTU), and after that established his independent research group and was appointed full Professor there in 1998. In 2008 he was recruited as Professor and Director to Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden, where he is currently directing a research group of more than 50 people and the Life Science Area of Advance, which coordinates over 200 researchers from 5 departments. Jens Nielsen has published so far more than 450 research papers that have been cited more than 15,000 times (current H-factor 60), co-authored more than 40 books and he is inventor of more than 50 patents. He has founded several companies that have raised more than 25 million € in venture capital. He has received numerous Danish and international awards and is member of the National Academy of Engineering in USA, the Royal Swedish Academy of Science, the Royal Danish Academy of Science and Letters, the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, the American Academy of Microbiology, Academy of Technical Sciences in Denmark, the Royal Society of Arts and Sciences in Gothenburg and the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering. He is a founding president of the International Metabolic Engineering Society.
Isaac Klapper

Professor, Temple University

Irene Wagner-Doebler

Head of the Microbial Communication Research Group, Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research

Hugo Roume

PostDoctoral Researcher, Ghent University